Jazz Fest 2014

What a fantastic time I had last weekend at the Jazz Fest. New Orleans certainly knows how to throw a party! Great food, drink, and of course, MUSIC! The art was divine this year with Terrance Osborne’s beautiful poster.

Terrance Osborne

Terrance Osborne

I had the honor to meet and discuss art with two of the most famous artists at the fest: Bruce Brice Jr. and Richard C. Thomas. Mr. Brice was the first artist who created a poster for the Jazz Fest 45 years ago.

Bruce Brice

Bruce Brice

Mardi Gras Indians

Bruce Brice, Mardi Gras Indians

Mr. Thomas is known for his 1989 Fats Domino poster. They were both so humble and wonderful and very interested in my Human Trafficking Series.

Richard C. Thomas Fats Domino Poster

Richard C. Thomas, Fats Domino Poster

Richard C. Thomas

Richard C. Thomas

Richard C. Thomas and Terrance Osborne, 2014

Richard C. Thomas and Terrance Osborne, 2014

I bought a print for my God-daughter, Jerusalem, but had no idea Mr. Thomas was going to sign it for her. Because it is a surprise, I will wait to show you the print. However, I loved one print in particular which I am going to try to get for my sons. Since they do not read this blog, it will still be a surprise for them.

Richard C. Thomas,  God and Drew Brees! Who DAT!

Richard C. Thomas, God and Drew Brees! Who DAT!

What else can I say but…

WHO DAT!

Monalisa

 

 

About monalisaestherlash

I am the mother of three grown children, all in their twenties now. Thank the Lord we did not hurt one another during the teenage years! I have a B.A. in Fine Art and a M.S. in Education Leadership/Instructional Technology. One more little piece of trivia: I love comedy and my real name is Monalisa. The irony of a name!
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment